In 1920, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the former Dominion Police with headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

At the present time, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is responsible throughout Canada for the enforcement of the laws against smuggling by land, sea and air; it enforces the provisions of the Excise Act and the Migratory Birds Convention Act; is responsible for the suppression of the traffic in narcotic drugs; assists the Mines and Resources, Fisheries and numerous other Dominion Departments in executing the provisions of their respective Acts, and in some cases in administrative duties; is responsible for the protection of government buildings and dockyards; is the sole police force operating in Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories; and performs a variety of services in all provinces and both Territories for the Dominion Government.

Under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code, upon payment for its services, and at the present time such agreements are in force with the provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present, the Minister of Justice) and may be employed anywhere in Canada. From a Force of 300 in 1873, it had a strength on Mar. 31, 1943, of 4,928, consisting of 98 officers, commissioned by the Crown, 2,859 non-commissioned officers and constables, 108 ordinary special constables, 1,845 special constable guards and 18 security service (not including Police personnel). In 1937 a "Reserve" strength of 300 men was authorized by Parliament, and at the present time, these are principally centred in such cities as Toronto and Winnipeg.

The Force is organized into 13 Divisions of varying strength distributed over the entire country, and its means of transport consist of 115 saddle horses, 779 motor-vehicles and 283 sleigh dogs.

The term of engagement is five years for recruits, with re-enlistment for a period not exceeding five years, but on account of the war situation there are not very many men being engaged. The training course which is of six months' duration, or longer, consists of drill, physical training—including instruction in wrestling, boxing and jiu-jitsu—and police duties both Dominion and Provincial. The principal training centres are at Regina, Sask., and at Rockcliffe, Ont., at each of which there is an up-to-date scientific laboratory.

The duties of the Force have increased tremendously since the outbreak of the present war and the Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is Registrar General of Enemy Aliens in Canada. The guarding of vulnerable points throughout the Dominion, apart from military property, rests solely upon the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The Force has furnished one Provost Company consisting of approximately 185 men to the Canadian Active Army overseas.